Time to begin in the middle, or somewhere thereafter

Pretentious title, check. Grandiose ambition, check. Inflated ego and thesaurus, check and aligned. Sense of humour, god I hope so.

Alright, there’s no point in pretending that the first time isn’t going to be awkward. One way or another you just gotta get it out there and get rolling. My ‘hyper’ self-awareness produced the beginning of this post, but I hope it will turn out to be more useful in the coming year.

So what’s the point of this? Well, first and foremost I type much quicker than I write, so this is a far more efficient mental douche than my journal (that will by no means be the last crude joke). Secondly, and perhaps most importantly, I have a lot I want to talk about, some of which might be useful to someone, most of which will just be another person complaining about bullshit or providing opinions on topics of which no one asked.

Anyhow, almost two years ago I stopped drinking, smoking, toking, and every other short term answer to, “Where’s the fun at?”. While the first months were difficult, the first year was triumphant. I had goals, ambitions, energy and a surprising lack of hangovers. I traveled, saw old friends in a new light and felt optimistic of the future. That was Year One. Year Two, on the other hand, has been less of a jubilant celebration. I’m still happy I made the change, it was quite necessary, but now the future is uncertain. All those goals and plans amounted to very little. Now I sometimes wonder, “what was the point?”. I, like many of my peers, am over-educated and under-employed. Though my tendency towards apathy is a strong contributor to the later. This will be the only time I use the word ‘disillusioned’. To simplify: I’m trying to figure out what the fuck to do with myself, and I know I’m not the only one.

Sobriety struggles one day, travel and life history anecdotes another, general philosophical (and maybe even political) musings sprinkled generously throughout. I’ll try to keep the bullshit light, and get straight to the point. I need to be more honest, and hopefully this is a means to that end. I also hope I let my writing be sloppy, and I don’t get lost trying to make stuff sound nice.

Leave a comment